

ORDER PAPER

OF

THE HONOURABLE THE HOUSE OF ASSEMBLY

FIRST SESSION OF 2008-2013

FIFTIETH SITTING

at

10.00 a.m.

on

Friday, 4th December, 2009

The First Session of the Parliament of 2008–2013 commenced on Tuesday, 12th February, 2008

MANAGEMENT COMMISSION OF PARLIAMENT

(Parliament (Administration) Act, Cap. 10 – Section 3(4) and First Schedule)

The following are ex officio Members of the Commission:

His Honour M. A. Carrington (Chairman), Hon. D. J. H. Thompson, Hon. R. D. Jones and Hon. Miss M. A. Mottley, Q.C.

Section 3(4) of the Parliament (Administration) Act, Cap. 10.

The following are appointed Members of the Commission:

Hon. F. J. Stuart, Hon. M. A. Lashley, Mr. D. St. E. Kellman and Mr. D. D. Marshall, Q.C.

Appointed on 12th February, 2008.

SESSIONAL SELECT COMMITTEES

COMMITTEE OF PRIVILEGES

To consider and report to the Honourable the House of Assembly on all matters which involve the privileges of the Honourable the House of Assembly.

The Members of the Committee are:

His Honour the Speaker (Chairman), Hon. M. A. Lashley, Mr. D. St. E. Kellman, Mr. A. D. Brathwaite, Dr. the Hon. D. S. Lowe, Dr. W. F. Duguid and Mr. H. F. Lashley.

Appointed on 12th February, 2008.

COMMITTEE OF PUBLIC ACCOUNTS

To examine the accounts showing the appropriation of the sums granted by Parliament to meet the public expenditure, accounts of any entities in which Government is a majority shareholder or holds a majority interest and of such other accounts laid before Parliament as the Committee may think fit.

The Members of the Committee are:

Hon. Miss M. A. Mottley, Q.C. (Chairman), Hon. R. L. Sealy, Hon. Dr. D. C. Estwick, Hon. C. P. Sinckler, Dr. the Hon. D. S. Lowe, Mr. D. D. Marshall, Q.C. and Rt. Hon. O. S. Arthur.

Appointed on 12th February, 2008.

STANDING ORDERS COMMITTEE

The Members of the Committee are:

His Honour the Speaker (Chairman), Hon. R. D. Jones, His Honour K. St. C. Best, Dr. the Hon. E. R. Byer Suckoo, Hon. J. D. E. Boyce, Hon. S. D. Blackett, Mr. S. A. Lashley, Mr. G. W. Payne, Q.C., Mr. R. St. C. Toppin and Mr. R. C. Eastmond.

Appointed on 12th February, 2008.

LIBRARY COMMITTEE

The following are Members of this Joint Committee:

His Honour the Speaker (Chairman), Hon. P. M. T. Todd, Hon. D. O'N. Inniss, Hon. E. G. Hutson, Mr. J. D. Paul, Hon. R. L. Sealy, Miss C. Y. Forde and Mr. G. A. Clarke.

Appointed on 12th February, 2008.

ORDER OF BUSINESS

(Standing Order 10)

"Unless the House otherwise directs, the business of each sitting day shall be transacted in the following order –

- (a) Formal entry of His Honour the Speaker.
- (b) Prayers.
- (c) Announcements by His Honour the Speaker.
- (d) Messages from His Excellency the Governor-General.
- (e) Petitions.
- (f) Papers.
- (g) Government Notices.
- (h) Private Members' Notices.
- (i) Notices of Questions.
- (j) Reports from Select Committees.
- (k) First readings of Bills.
- (1) Statements by Ministers.
- (m) Congratulatory and/or obituary speeches.
- (n) Personal Explanations.
- (o) Motions for leave of absence.
- (p) Oral replies to questions.
- (q) Notices of motions for the adjournment of the House on matters of urgent public importance.
- (r) Orders of the day."

GOVERNMENT BUSINESS

1. Dr. the Hon. D. C. Estwick: To move the Second Reading of the Barbados Water Authority (Amendment) Bill, 2008.

Notice of this Bill was given on 17th April, 2008.

The Bill was read a first time on 22nd April, 2008.

The Bill first appeared in the Official Gazette on 28th April, 2008.

2. Hon. D. J. H. Thompson: To move the Second Reading of the Public Service (Amendment) Bill, 2009.

Notice of this Bill was given on 7th August, 2009.

The Bill was read a first time on 7th August, 2009.

The Bill first appeared in the Official Gazette on 17th August, 2009.

3. Hon. D. J. H. Thompson: To move the Second Reading of the Constitution (Amendment) (No. 2) Bill, 2009.

Notice of this Bill was given on 7th August, 2009.

The Bill was read a first time on 7th August, 2009.

The Bill first appeared in the Official Gazette on 17th August, 2009.

Tuesday, 4th December, 2009

GOVERNMENT BUSINESS

4. Hon. E. G. Hutson: To move the First Reading of the Shipping (Incentives) (Amendment) Bill, 2009.

Notice of this Bill was given on 26th November, 2009.

QUESTIONS

N.B. Questions marked thus * are for Oral Reply

*6. Mr. Rawle Eastmond (St. James North): To ask the Minister of Transport and Works: 1. Is the Minister aware that there is urgent need for the southern part of Olton Road, St. Peter in the constituency of St. James North to be properly extended to provide a better amenity to the residents of Olton Road? (a) If the Minister is aware, will the Minister state what steps, if any, are being taken to address this matter? 2. Is the Minister aware that the entire area above and north of the Gordon Greenidge School, including the area known as Bakers Wood is exceptionally dark after 5.00 p.m. and early in the morning occasioned by a cluster of trees rendering the area dark and dangerous? (a) If the Minister is aware, will the Minister state what steps, if any, his government intends to take to remedy this problem?

Notice of this Question was given on 24th July, 2009.

*7. Mr. Rawle Eastmond (St. James North): To ask the Minister of Youth, Family and Sports: 1. Is the Minister aware that there are no lights on the Trents Pasture and playing field? (a) If the Minister is aware, will the Minister state whether there are any plans to install lights and if so, how soon will floodlights be installed? 2. Is the Minister aware that there is a need for sporting facilities, especially hard courts in Lower Carlton No. 3? (a) If the Minister is aware, will the Minister state what plans, if any, Government has to provide a playing pavilion in the Lower Carlton area?

Notice of this Question was given on 24th July, 2009.

PRIVATE MEMBERS' BUSINESS

1. Mr. S. A. Lashley: To move the passing of a Resolution to take note of the Throne Speech of His Excellency the Acting Governor-General and of the determination of the Government to implement the provisions referred to therein.

Notice of this Resolution was given on 22nd February, 2008.

On the 26th February, 2008 Mr. S. A. Lashley spoke and moved, seconded by Hon. R. D. Jones that the Resolution do now pass.

Hon. Miss M. A. Mottley spoke.

Mr. D. St. E. Kellman spoke.

Hon. C. P. Sinckler spoke.

Dr. W. F. Duguid spoke.

Further consideration was postponed.

On resumption on 4th March, 2008 Dr. the Hon. E. R. Byer Suckoo spoke.

Hon. M. A. Lashley spoke.

Dr. the Hon. D. C. Estwick spoke.

Miss C. Y. Forde spoke.

Hon. D. O'N. Inniss spoke.

Further consideration of matters was postponed.

2. Mr. H. F. Lashley: To move the passing of a Resolution to take note and place on record gratitude to Victor "Gas" Clarke for his outstanding contribution to the development of football and sports.

Notice of this Resolution was given on 4th November, 2008.

3. Hon. Miss M. A. Mottley: To move the passing of a Resolution calling upon the Government of Barbados to acquire the Graeme Hall Nature Sanctuary to avert its closure.

Notice of this Resolution was given on 19th December, 2008.

HOUSE OF ASSEMBLY

FIRST SESSION OF 2008–2013

ORDER PAPER

FIFTIETH SITTING

Friday, 4th December, 2009

Government Printing Department Barbados.