

ORDER PAPER

OF

THE HONOURABLE THE SENATE

SECOND SESSION OF 2018 - 2023

JOINT SITTING

at

10.00 o'clock a.m.

on

Wednesday, 20th October, 2021

The First Meeting of the First Session of the Parliament of 2018–2023 was held on 5th June, 2018

Parliament was prorogued by Proclamation on 8th August, 2020

The First Meeting of the Second Session of the Parliament of 2018–2023 was held on the 15th September, 2020.

Pursuant to Section 14(2) of the Constitution (Amendment) (No. 2) Act 2021 the Joint Meeting of Parliamnet will be held on the 20th October, 2021

MANAGEMENT COMMISSION OF PARLIAMENT

(Parliament (Administration) Act, Cap. 10, Section 3(4) and First Schedule).

His Honour the President ex officio, Senator the Hon. Mr. J. X. Walcott ex officio, Senators C. A. Franklyn and Ms. M. C. Taitt, Q.C.

Appointed 15th September, 2020.

SELECT COMMITTEES

Committee of Selection

Standing Order 60(1)

His Honour the President (Chairman) ex officio, Senators the Hon. Ms. L. R. Cummins, D. R. Sands, Mr. C. A. Maynard and C. A. Franklyn.

Appointed 15th September, 2020.

Standing Orders Committee

Standing Order 60(2)

His Honour the President (Chairman) ex officio, Senators Dr. L. P. Holder, K. J. Boyce and C. A. Franklyn.

Appointed 30th September, 2020.

Senator the Hon. Mr. J. X. Walcott.

Appointed 25th March, 2021.

House Committee

Standing Order 60(3)

His Honour the President (Chairman) ex officio, Senators C. A. Franklyn, Dr. C. K. M. Haynes, Ms. T. N. S-A Moore and Mr. C. A. Maynard.

Appointed 30th September, 2020.

Committee of Privileges

Standing Order 60(4)

His Honour the President (Chairman) ex officio, Senators the Hon. Mr. J. X. Walcott, D. R. Sands, K. J. Boyce and C. A. Franklyn.

Appointed 30th September, 2020.

Regulations Committee

Standing Order 60(5)

His Honour the President (Chairman) ex officio, His Honour Senator R. N. Greenidge, Senators C. A. Franklyn, the Hon. L. E. Nurse and R. W. Grant.

Appointed 30th September, 2020.

JOINT SELECT COMMITTEE

(Standing Order 67)

LIBRARY COMMITTEE

Senators Dr. C. K. M. Haynes, R. O. Springer, Dr. L. P. Holder and C. A. Franklyn.

Appointed 30th September, 2020.

Senator D. R. Sands.

Appointed 25th March, 2021.

COMMITTEE OF PUBLIC ACCOUNTS

(Standing Order 60(6))

Senators the Hon. Mr. J. X. Walcott, Miss L. Moe, K. J. Boyce, the Hon. Ms. L. R. Cummins, the Hon. L. E. Nurse and Miss C. N. Drakes.

Appointed 30th September, 2020.

JOINT SELECT COMMITTEE

National Vending Bill, 2021

Senators the Hon. Ms. L. R. Cummins, Dr. L. P. Holder, D. R. Sands, C. A. Franklyn, J. A. Hunte and Miss A. M. Wiggins.

Appointed on 8th September, 2021.

Terms of Reference:

- 1. To inquire into and determine whether the Bill as drafted fulfils the expressed objects of the promotion, regulation and decriminalization of vending in Barbados.
- 2. To examine and determine whether the Bill as drafted will upon effective implementation fulfils the expressed objects of improving the environment for vending thus contributing to the development of an ethos of transparency, compliance, accountability and development of the sector.
- 3. To consider whether the Bill as drafted offers an effective enforcement procedure to ensure compliance with the provisions of the Bill.
- 4. To make recommended changes, if deemed necessary, to the Bill as drafted for further consideration by the Chief Parliamentary Counsel.

ORDER OF BUSINESS

(Standing Order 11 of the First Session)

Formal entry of His Honour the President.

Prayers.

Messages from Her Excellency the Governor-General.

Announcements by His Honour the President.

Presentation of Petitions.

Presentation of Papers.

Reports from Select Committees.

Questions to Ministers.

Requests for leave to move the adjournment of the Senate on matters of urgent public importance.

Statements by Ministers or Parliamentary Secretaries.

Personal Explanations.

Motions relating to the Business or Sittings of the Senate and moved by a Minister.

Introduction of Bills.

Public Business.

Private Members' Business.

His Honour Senator R. R. Farley, J.P. (President)

His Honour Senator R. N. Greenidge (Deputy President)

Senator the Honourable J. X. Walcott (Minister of Foreign Affairs and Foreign Trade)

Senator the Honourable Miss K. S. McConney (Minister of Innovation, Science and Smart Technology)

Senator the Honourable Ms. L. R. Cummins (Minister of Tourism and International Transport)

Senator Dr. R. O. Springer (Parliamentary Secretary in the Ministry of Education, Technological and Vocational Training)

Senator Miss L. C. Moe

Senator R. W. Grant, J.P.

Senator Dr. L. P. Holder

Senator Dr. C. K. M. Haynes

Senator D. R. Sands

Senator C. A. Franklyn, J.P.

Senator Miss C. N. Drakes

Senator the Hon, L. E. Nurse

Senator Mr. C. A. Maynard

Senator Ms. M. C. Taitt, Q.C.

Senator K. J. Boyce

Senator Miss A. M. Wiggins

Senator R. J. H. Adams

Senator Rev. Dr. J. A. Rogers

Senator J. A. Hunte



By Her Excellency Dame Sandra Prunella Mason, Dame Grand Cross of the Most Distinguished Order of Saint Michael and Saint George, Dame of St. Andrew, Queen's Counsel, Governor-General of Barbados.

S. MASON Governor-General

A PROCLAMATION

WHEREAS it is provided by section 60(1) of the *Constitution* that each session of Parliament shall be held at such place and commence at such time as the Governor-General may appoint:

AND WHEREAS by Proclamation dated the 7th day of September, 2020 the Governor-General appointed the Lloyd Erskine Sandiford Centre, Two Mile Hill, Saint Michael as the place at which the Second Session of Parliament should be held at 10:00 hours in the morning:

AND WHEREAS it was expedient to continue the session of Parliament at the Worthing Corporate Centre, Worthing, Christ Church with effect from the 22nd day of September, 2020:

AND WHEREAS it is now expedient to have this session continued with a Joint Sitting of both Houses of Parliament at the Lloyd Erskine Sandiford Centre on the 20th October, 2021:

NOW THEREFORE by virtue and in exercise of the power and authority in me vested, I, Dame Sandra Prunella Mason, Dame Grand Cross of the Most Distinguished Order of Saint Michael and Saint George, Dame of St. Andrew, Queen's Counsel, Governor-General of Barbados, **DO HEREBY APPOINT** the Lloyd Erskine Sandiford Centre, Two Mile Hill, Saint Michael as the place at which the session of Parliament shall be held and 10:00 in the morning on the Wednesday, 20th October, 2021, as the time at which the said session shall commence.

Given under my hand and the Public Seal of Barbados, this 18th day of October, 2021, and in the seventieth year of Her Majesty's Reign.

BUSINESS OF THE DAY

- 1. Entrance of Speaker.
- 2. Prayers.
- **3.** Announcements by the Speaker.
- **4.** Declaration of Election of a President.
- **5.** Remarks by the Leader of the Opposition.
- **6.** Remarks by the Prime Minister.
- 7. Adjournment.

QUESTIONS

No. 1* Name: Senator Dr. Christopher A. Maynard:

To ask the Leader of the Senate:

- 1. (a) Were environmental studies done prior to closure of the Louis Lynch Secondary School more than 15 years ago;
 - (b) and were these studies used to inform the decision to close the Secondary School as stated by the Minister;
 - (c) and if these studies were done will they be made documents of the House?

Notice of this Question was given on 18th August, 2021.

PRIVATE MEMBERS' BUSINESS

SENATE

SECOND SESSION OF 2018 - 2023

ORDER PAPER

JOINT SITTING

Wednesday, 20th October, 2021

Government Printing Department Barbados.